Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I have commitment issues. Not in relationships. I can proudly say that I’m 100% faithful and committed to my hot boyfriend. 😆 What I have trouble committing to are products. I am the type of person that will try every single brand of an existing product before I can pick out one that I like. Proof: I currently have about 20 different mascaras and each week I have a different favorite and I have yet to repurchase a single one. I’m not kidding. There are very few items in my apartment that would make me run out of the door to re-stock if it were to run out. Here are the lucky winners (in random order):

1. Head & Shoulders “Smooth & Silky” Dandruff Shampoo (aprox $7.49)- I pretty much purchased all of the expensive dandruff shampoos available over-the-counter before purchasing this one thinking that the cheap ones like Head & Shoulders weren’t going to work. Boy was I wrong. I have not seen a single flake in my head since using this shampoo. And the best part: it doesn’t dry out my hair. I have seriously curly hair which is currently chemically straightened, it’s also dyed a lighter color, and on top of that I straighten it with a flat-iron at least twice a week so it goes through intense heat damage, spilt ends and occasional frizziness. I’ve used shampoos that have cost me up to $28 each and none have worked better on my hair than this one.

2. Avon “Silicone Glove” Hand Cream (aprox $5)- This is the best hand lotion I’ve ever tried. It’s so good I keep one at my apartment and the other at my cubicle in the office and I use it basically after every time I wash my hands. It literally feels like it’s creating a super soft protective silicone glove around your hands.

 

3. Neutrogena “Oil-free Acne Wash” (aprox $7.49) – I have been using this sporadically for years and every time I try a different acne wash I always seem to return to this one. I recently used the Clinique’s Acne Soap (which retails for $16 liquid/$12 bar) and to be honest worked pretty well, but the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash gives very comparable to equal results at a much lower, affordable price.

4. Clean & Clear “Dual Action Moisturizer” (aprox $6.99) – This moisturizer is formulated specifically to hydrate and treat acne prone skin. Like I mentioned in #3, I have also tried Clinique’s Moisturizing Lotions (which retail around $13-$25), among others, and have returned to this one and with this one I will stay. No other moisturizer does the job of hydrating my skin all day without making me feel oily and without causing me to break out. And it is light-weight enough to even use under my foundation. And the minty feel it has upon applying to the skin is very refreshing but gentle.

5. Clinique “All About Eyes” Eye Cream ($29) – Ok, so I’m not sure if this one really counts. Besides being the most expensive on the list, I haven’t really purchased it. To me $29 is seriously expensive for an eye cream. So what I do is wait until Clinique is giving away their seasonal “bonus gifts” with the purchase of aprox $25 and I check to see if a trial size of this eye cream is in it and if so I make a purchase totaling $25 and get a lot of goodies plus the eye cream! And the trial size contains exactly the same amount (.5 oz) as the retail size.

6. Crece Pelo Hair Growth Treatment (aprox $10)- I swear by this. This probably isn’t available in your area but I purchased mine in my local Wal-Mart. And from what I see online, it can be purchased at http://www.amazon.com. This hair treatment leaves your hair so soft and tangle free and it really does stimulate hair growth. My hair grows noticeably faster when I use this product. I also notice less breakage and split ends.

7. Revlon “Colorstay” Foundation (Combination to Oily Skin) (aprox $12.99)- This is by far the best drug-store foundation for oily skin. It provides medium to full coverage and will last all day.

 
 
 
 
 
 

8. Gain “Apple Mango Tango” Laundry Detergent (aprox $6)- I used to always buy the cheapest laundry detergent at the super market, until one day I ran out of detergent right in the middle of doing laundry and this detergent was just lying around in my apartment’s laundromat and I used some. Your clothes will smell sooooo good. I have literally had people tell me I smell good without having put on any perfume and then they’d sniff me when I tell them it’s my Laundry Detergent (yeah, totally weird). Plus I do both my whites and colors all together in the wash and this works great for both.

9. Crest Complete “Extra White with Scope Outlast” Toothpaste (aprox $4) – I embarrassingly admit to severe morning breath and I need a powerful toothpaste to kill it. This one is as good as it gets.

10. Scotch-Brite “Soap Dispensing Dishwand” (aprox $3) – From now on this is the only way I’ll do the dishes. My stepmom bought one for me in Florida. Unfortunately I have not seen it available in Puerto Rico so I would have to purchase the refills online. You fill the wand with the dishwashing soap (preferably Gain Apple Mango Tango for awesomeness) and it automatically dispenses on the sponge while you do the dishes. Plus no more having to actually touch yucky food to scrape it off the plate. 🙂