Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey there everyone! First of all, let me start by saying I’m soooo sorry for my absence! I haven’t posted in about two full months! I’ve been really, super busy and procrastination keeps getting the best of me when I’m not. I can’t believe tomorrow will mark one year of Life of a Recessionista and I have it abandoned. But nonetheless I’m back! And hopefully good things will be up on here soon. I plan on doing a give away to celebrate my blogaversary and as soon as I figure out what I’d like to give away I’ll post it and promote it so you can enter, so stay tuned!

Did you ever see the movie “Clueless” with Alicia Silverstone and Brittany Murphy? Remember the scene where Alicia wakes up and starts getting ready to go to school and when she’s deciding what to wear she browses through all of her outfits on her computer and then pulls it out of her closet? I have forever been jealous of her. But not anymore!

I recently downloaded this app on my phone and I am obsessed with it. It allows you to keep a full inventory of your wardrobe right on your phone and create outfits just like Alicia did in Clueless. It’s called Stylish Girl and best of all it’s free! And available on both Android and iPhone. I have the iPhone version so this review will be based on the iPhone version of the app.

It is basically pretty simple to use. The photos below are the actual screenshots taken from my phone. How it works? You take pictures of each individual item in your wardrobe, upload it to the app, categorize it (top, bottom, shoes, accessory, etc) and voila! Your own personal wardrobe inventory and outfit creator at your fingertips. If you’re like me and don’t like a clutter of photos in your phone, you can delete the photos from your camera roll and the photos will remain uploaded in the app without using unnecessary photo storage on your phone.

The app also has a couple of other cool features. It allows you to mark the dates when you last wore an item. It also has a feature where you can plan the outfits for your next trip by adding them to your ‘Suitcase’. And there’s a feature called the ‘Fashion Lounge’ where you can get inspiration from outfits and pairings made by other people (sort of like Polyvore) but I haven’t really messed around with this feature yet. 

I will warn you that it is a bit time-consuming to take photos of every item in your wardrobe. It took me about two hours to do only my clothing items, and to save time I skipped a couple of jeans and tank tops. I only uploaded about a quarter of all of my shoes (because I probably have more shoes than clothes) and still have to upload all of my accessories. But honestly, it is all worth it. Especially since I am the type of girl who likes to plan my outfits ahead since I suffer from the extreme fear of wasting a good outfit on an insignificant day. This app is great for creating outfits. I’ve paired things I never would have otherwise thought they’d go together before seeing them all together in this app. All in all, I highly recommend it. And it’s free! You can’t beat that.😉

If you have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments below or at my Facebook page. ♥